This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...

Please note:- Dogs are not permitted within the grounds of RTSSC.

Quiz Night and BBQ

The mid-season social event takes place on Saturday 1st July, 19:30 at RTSSC.
It is important this event is a success so please make every effort to get a as many people along as possible.
Saturday 3rd June

Galleywood 1st XI v Rayleigh Fairview 1st XI - Won by 4 wkts
Rayleigh Fairview travelled to Galleywood on a hot summers day which turned out to be a thoroughly enjoyable afternoons cricket for both sides. Fairview won the toss and put Galleywood into bat on what seemed a damp wicket from Fridays heavy downpours. A decision to bowl in form opener Jamie Lawson up the hill was quickly changed after 2 overs so the paceman could steam down the hill at the Galleywood openers. A good start with the bat for the home side was finally broken when J Lawson clean bowled open A Reeve with a perfect delivery. A good 2nd wicket partnership between J Adams and G Mawby never seemed like it was going to be broken until Callum Mclean, a new recruit in the 1s this year, got J Adams caught at slip but the 70 year old maestro Ray Pettit. Regular wickets started to tumble after this, all starting from the pressure of Tom Webster and Cal Mcleans bowling. Dan Lawson taking 3 wickets in 4 balls then Jamie Lawson returning at the end to take a couple more. Pick of the bowlers, J Lawson with 3 for 27. G Mawby with a fine knock for Galleywood ending on 63. Galleywood finished on 171 for 9 at the end of there 45 overs.
After tea, Fairview set out to chase down the total of 172 and record there 4th win of the season. Unfortunately, things didnt start to well with G Crompton and A Jellett both falling early to openers Claydon and Hicks. Captain D Lawson, went in but soon lost partner Adam Keating as well so was joined by Andy Ames at the crease. At 27 for 3, both batsmen stood firm and put on a partnership of 59 before skipper Lawson departed for a fine 47. Amesy continued his fine form with the bat but as the run rate was increasing, he fell to opener Claydon in his 2nd spell for a well worked 42. With the run rate still going up each ball, Fairview required 26 runs off the last 3 overs to win the game which seemed unlikely due to the accurate bowling of the Galleywood bowlers. Up stepped wicket keeper Dave Jellett (12no) and fast bowler Jamie Lawson(30no), to secure a fine win in the last over of the game for Rayleigh Fairview. Pick of the Galleywood bowlers being P Blowers taking 2 for 32 off his 10 overs.
A superb game played in good spirits by 2 very good sides.

Rayleigh Fairview 2nd XI v v South Weald 2nd XI - Lost by 9 wickets.
Fairview lost toss and were put into bat. Another disappointing batting display from the top order left Fairview on 20/6 at one point. Only some superb batting from Josh Faires (40) and Dave Ashby (34 no) with support from Gokull (15) salvaged some pride finishing on 127 all out.
The bowling and fielding was much better despite the defeat. Senthil and Dave Ashby were the stand out bowlers. The disappointment was made worse by Weald's opening bat who refused to walk prior to reaching his half century. This marred what otherwise was a match played in the right spirit.
Keep going Fairview, maybe some victories in the 3 weeks I'm away .....
Saturday 27th May

Rayleigh Fairview 1st XI v Purleigh XI - Lost by 7 wickets
Rayleigh Fairview went into the game with only 10 men this week as 6 regulars were away for the bank holiday weekend. Purleigh won the toss and put Fairview into bat on a very hot afternoon. Some very good tight opening bowling meant that Fairview got off to a slow start. After 45 overs, Fairview posted 167 on the board for the loss of 6 wickets. D Lawson 36 not out A Ames 28 the pick of the batsmen. Yasin taking 2-27 off 9 overs for Purleigh the pick of the attack.
Purleigh set out after tea to chase down the target of 168 and done this with relative ease. Starting the fielding with 10 players and finishing with 8 fielders due to some early departures never really helped Fairview but a good middle order partnership between A Bowles (57 not out) and the captain Freegard (69) meant that Purleigh reached there target after 33 overs for a well deserved victory. A Keating 2 for 34 off 10 and D Lawson 1 for 26 off 10 overs the pick of the Fairview bowlers.

Tillingham 2nd XI v Rayleigh Fairview 2nd XI - Lost by 10 wkts.
Sadly another defeat however the team spirit remains strong. Put into bat against possibly the best bowling we have encountered this season, we were all out for 93. The only bright moments coming from Brijesh who scored a powerful 33 and a very mature batting display from Tom Nichols who finished on 15 not out but demonstrated to the adults how to play defensive shots.
Tillingham reached their target without the loss of a wicket before the corners of the sandwiches had started to curl! Senthil And Sakthi both showed their accuracy with the ball in hand without the reward of a wicket. The enthusiasm from Sakthi and new recruit Arun made for an interesting albeit short lived match.
Always next week boys .........
Club Diary 2017
Saturday 1st July – Quiz night.
Saturday 9th September – Fairview Frenzy
Friday 10th November – Annual dinner
Thursday 16th November - AGM
2015 Annual awards

Max Alwins Trophy - D Lawson
Holmes Cup - C Mclean
Mick Hayward Memorial Shield - D Nicholls
Ron Thomas Cup - A Jellett
Mellon Cup - J Payne
RFCC Fielding Trophy - D Jellett
J Hilliard Memorial Trophy - T Nicholls
Russel Sim Memorial Shield - T Donoghue
Clubman of the Year - R Pettit

The team photo is possibly a 1st XI or a Sunday XI from late 60s or maybe 1970.
Team from the back left to right: Ron Dowling, Jim Hilliard, Malcolm Baker, maybe Laurie Stobbs brother, Basil Cooper, Ron Pettitt, Umpire Denis Lee
Front Row: David Greatorex, Norman Taylor, Tony Greatorex, Mike Rand, Stuart Cannon

1966 Dinner and Dance at the Mill Hall

Next Committee meeting TBA

Next Committee meeting TBA

Next Committee meeting TBA